25/01/2017: This is probably a more appropriate “first” then the last post

_dsc0034

Well here we are! Another day, another post. This one has happened really late (again!) Why am I always so active at night? It takes out so much potential writing time. Oh well.

You may (or may not) have noticed that I’ve updated the cover image thing for several of my pages now. It may change in future, but for now I’m quite happy with it.

_dsc0021

Isn’t it great when old friends call you out of the blue? I spontaneously caught up with my friend Caitlin today, for some hot chocolate and photography. The hot chocolate was great, though the choosing of a cafe to go to was an interesting process. We were at Southgate Plaza (I refuse to call it Southgate Square) and there was one cafe that looked somewhat fancy – dark coloured, nice and aesthetically pleasing. Then there was another cafe that looked like an old low budget place. We ended up going to the latter, but it did make me wonder, because I had personally been drawn to the nicer looking place. Why is that? If it hadn’t been that Caitlin wanted food, I might have insisted we go to the other one. It really makes you think about how much it’s drummed into society through various means that you’re going to end up with a nicer product simply because of the way that the cafe looks. I can guarantee you that you’re probably going to end up with a more expensive product because of the way that the cafe looks, but there really isn’t much to say about the quality of the product until you actually pay the money and try it out. I’ll try the other cafe next time and keep you guys posted on which one had the better hot chocolate. This hot chocolate – and this is more for my own reference as by the time I go to the other place I may have forgotten how good the chocolate was – would probably be a 7/10.

Another quick note – why is it called “going out for coffee?” I understand that people tend to do that a lot, but it’s rather excluding of the people like myself who don’t actually like coffee, don’t you think? If I tell my friends I’m “going out for coffee” they’re going to be confused slightly because they know I think it’s gross. But it’s less of a mouth full then saying I’m “going out for hot chocolate.” Fuck society.

_dsc0046_dsc0048

On a purely photography note, here are some images I took while out with Caitlin after our cafe session.

The top image I was aiming for a lens flare (yes, I understand it is technically bad for your lens to point it directly at the sun. But it looks really pretty so I do it anyway) and I’m quite pleased with the result. If anything, it’s annoying how the tree-berry-nut things were less visible because of it. But overall, I’m happy to make the sacrifice. If anyone has tips on how not to let the lens flare completely ruin my image though, I am keen to hear them.

Image specifics:

Focal Length: 55

F Stop: 6.3

Exposure: 1/200

The bottom image came out with a surprise lens flare. It’s no where near as dramatic as the first one because I wasn’t trying this time. However as cute as the little lens flare is, I am more frustrated with this photo because I was aiming for a macro shot of the leaves, which turned out blurrier and less in focus then I would like. But I thought lens flares could be a little theme of today’s post, so here it is anyway.

Image specifics:

Focal Length: 55

F Stop: 5.6

Exposure: 1/125

While we were out on this expedition today, Caitlin needed to stop and use the toilet. So while looking after her camera, I decided to get creative with my surroundings. This lead to the beautiful photo at the top of this post today – I am quite happy with it.

That’s all for today guys! I think my boyfriend and I are going out to Myponga Beach tomorrow, so stay tuned for those pics.

Renee xx

P.S. Caitlin has her own photography Instagram, which you can check out here. I highly recommend this.

Leave a Reply

